About ASC


APEC Study Centers (ASCs) were established in 1993 as part of the APEC Leaders' Education Initiative. Currently, there exist ASCs in 19 APEC Member Economies and consist of approximately 100 universities, research centers and centers of academic excellence across the APEC region. APEC Study Center (ASC) in Taipei was officially launched in 1997. The ASC is located in the Taiwan Institute of Economic Research (TIER). It coordinates work related to APEC in the area of research, education, training, and outreach. The Center also engages the private sector in the APEC process.

The Organization of the Center

Under the leadership of Dr. Chang, Chien-Yi, Executive Director of ASC, a team of researchers and administrative assistants performs APEC-related research, analyses and administrative duties.